feeling totally agitated…

feeling totally agitated…2010-12-02T03:28:58+00:00
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I am wondering if anyone walks away from a hot yoga class feeling agitated? I’ve been doing regular hatha yoga for years and have always found a sense of happiness at the end even in some very challenging classes. But once I started doing hot yoga, I found myself to be agitated afterwards, grouchy, irritable, just not in a good mood at all. Is this normal? I had been doing hot yoga for probably 4 months or so and this was always my general feeling afterwards. So, I stopped doing it, telling myself that this type of yoga is not right for me right now. But, I am curious to try it again but don’t want this feeling of irritation and grouchiness to come back. That seems counterproductive doesn’t it? Is there any explanation for my physical reaction to the practice?

RandomFemale
    Participant

Jeez, that’s rough. Most days, I’m fine after class.

However…. this DOES happen to me, especially I’m not “dealing with” something really heavy going on in my life. You know, I ignore, ignore, ignore the problem and then in yoga it all comes out and after class I’m, like, “WTF?! That teacher was nuts!” Or, “gosh, I did terribly, I suck, etc.”

Sometimes it seems to worsen my anxiety, too. What keeps me coming back is that the irritability/anxiety subsides after a couple of hours and then I feel better than ever. How long did the anger last for you?

fraseram
    Participant

I find I get that pumped and agitated irritability after class if I push too hard or the room is too hot ect…. something that my sets my flight or fight response physically. It then can take me awhile to calm down…… if I have the mentality that this is just yoga and go in to breathe relax and stretch I come out on cloud nine 🙂

Springtime
    Participant