Sit up after fixed firm

Sit up after fixed firm2012-07-15T00:46:35+00:00
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi, I’m so much in love with Bikram Yoga as well as this great Hot Yoga Doctor website!

I’ve been practicing Bikram yoga for about 6 months, 5 days a week on average.
    Fixed Firm pose is the least challenging pose for me. However, I’ve been experiencing lower back stiffness in Sit Up just after the pose last 2 weeks or so. I can usually grab my feet and touch my forehead on knees in Sit Ups but I can’t even reach my feet after the pose as my lower back hurts. It somehow recovers in the next Half Tortoise pose and following Sit Up is fine.

I’m not sure if it’s related but I’ve been having on-off pain around my sacrum and hip joint on the left since I had quite loud popping noise somewhere around SI joint when I was in Standing Head to Knee pose deeply about 2 months ago and seeing an osteopath. Although I need modifications in Standing Head To Knee pose, Standing Separate Leg Intense Stretching pose and Wind Removing pose (not right leg up part) due to pain, I can still do full Sit Ups without pain apart from just after Fixed Firm pose. Of course I don’t have any pain anywhere during Fixed Firm pose.

I don’t quite understand why I get stiff lower back after Fixed Firm pose though the pose itself is very easy for me and wondering if I shouldn’t do the full pose.

Thank you 🙂
    Chihiro

I’d appreciate any advice

kfi2000
    Participant

I experience the same thing to a degree, and I’ve always thought it was normal. I notice it after the first backbend (going into hands-to-feet pose), and after camel. I figured the back bending just made my back a bit delicate after those poses. The other thing to consider is that BEFORE fixed firm, you have done a series of spine strengthening exercises where you are significantly contracting your back muscles. To me, that creates some tightness as well.