Acne due to Bikram?

Acne due to Bikram?2014-01-22T02:31:11+00:00
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’ve been practicing regularly everyday for about 10 months now. When I first started I had a few breakouts here and there, in my research I read that it was very common to break within the first few months because your body is detoxing. For the last month or so my acne is progressed to cystic acne. I’m not sure what I’m doing that can be affecting it. During class I never touch my face and use a clean face towel during the floor series. After class I rinse off right away with an acne cleanser my doctor recommended. I’ve also been taking an antibiotic and birth control that’s suppose to help but it’s definitely made it worse. I never had acne before my Bikram practice so am feeling very discouraged. Everyone is class has amazing skin which makes me feel very self-consious. Did anyone else experience this when they first started? I was hoping it would of cleared up after 10 months but it’s getting worse everyday. I also have a very clean diet and plenty of water.

I would appreciate any recommendations, advise, or feedback! I love Bikram yoga and don’t want to stop my practice because of this issue.

Devigill
    Participant

I have been practicing Bikram for about 6 months now and I am nearing the end of my 30 day challenge (Day 26 – Yippy!)! I started off with a small breakout and I began using a clean face towel for when we were on the mat for the final part of class – this was to prevent any bacteria from my feet and also sweat going into my pores. I noticed a considerable difference.

However now that I am nearing the end of the challenge my skin is now breaking out again – I am not getting any pimples instead large red spots which are very painful.

I too would appreciate any feedback or any advice on this…Please! As it is beginning to make me very self conscious!

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)