Post tibial tendonistis and yoga

Post tibial tendonistis and yoga2014-03-21T00:26:35+00:00
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi,
    I am relatively new to yoga but absolutely loved how it transformed me. I had taken classes on and off as well as practicing a few poses at home for several years. Last year I found a studio and began taking classes 4 or 5 times a week. I was also running, hiking, and waitressing. In september I fractured the fifth metatarsal in my right foot. I tried to adjust some of my favorite posses as well as incorporating an exorcise ball so I could still get some kind of work out. Last month I was finally able to walk again and had started trying out a few more posses. That was when the pain in my left foot started. The Dr. said it was post tibial tedonitis and not to run, walk, or do yoga for 6 to 8 weeks.
    Sorry this is a bit of a story.
    I just feel desperate to be able to feel physically and emotionally well again. The more I research this though the more it seems that it is chronic. I guess what I am wondering is, is there anything I can do to help it heal and will I ever be able to run again or take yoga classes?
    I have been drinking several herbs and turmeric to help with blood flow and reduce the inflammation. Also using and ice pack and arnica several times a day. I wear a brace when I am at work.
    Yesterday I went to an acupuncturist which did help a little.
    If anyone has any thoughts on acupuncture for this sort of injury or just suggestions on what to do and what yoga posses I should/not do I would so appreciate it!!

thank you :)!!!

ami

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hi Ami

How are you feeling now? It’s been almost 2 weeks since you posted so I thought I would chime in.

Can you please tell me how you worked around your sore right foot when it was healing? How did you avoid pain in that foot?