Knee swelling and Numbness

Knee swelling and Numbness2014-04-05T14:54:18+00:00
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello, I have been practicing Hot Vinyasa Yoga since 2012 and when I became pregnant I took a break. I tried to start up again however I think I went back a bit too soon and bent too far in the pidgeon pose and ever since have had numbness and swelling in my knee. I had an MRI and was told I have worn cartilage and should avoid lunges. Most of my hot vinyasa class involves lunges. I would really like to get back to my class but am worried about long term knee issues. I attempted to go back twice and just do higher bends with my lunges instead of going too deep however I still have numbness and swelling after class. I tried stationary bike riding and am having the same issues. Any suggestions? Thank you! I really miss my classes and want to go back. I had some unstable knee feeling before I became pregnant after class as well but nothing like this. At the time I was going to class four times a week.

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hello Kelly

Would you please tell me what were the recommendations of your doc with respect to your knee and any other specific recommendations? Did the advice go beyond “don’t lunge”? Was it ‘never lunge again’. Perhaps it was ‘you will be able to lunge when …’. Whatever you have will be helpful in order to get as much info as possible. Some range of motion is essential in order to maintain knee health. What were you told to avoid and what were you told to do?

Also would you consider doing another challenging style of yoga with less wear on your knee?

Namaste
    Gabrielle 🙂

klizgodin
    Participant