How do you do double?

How do you do double?2015-01-08T14:57:04+00:00
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello everyone! I am a newbie to Bikram. I took 10 classes (not in a row) and four days ago started a 30 day challenge to help me develop my practice. I am doing it on my own, not with a group. I understand that if you miss a class you can do a double to make it up. Hopefully it won’t come to that, but with winter here you never know if mother nature will have other plans and if it snows I may not make it to my studio. I thought a double meant two classes back to back. Can you do two classes in a day with several hours break in between? Is one way more preferable than the other? Also, if you do back to back, do you change into dry clothes and drink in the short break between? I worry about having too much liquid sloshing around there! Please advise!
    Thank you so much for your help 🙂

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hi tashacricket

Welcome to the forum! There are thankfully loads of posts that answer the questions you have asked that can already be found on the forum. Have you taken a look at using the search facility up the top? You can type in the word challenge and see which relevant threads come up.

In a nutshell:
    Commit to 6 classes per week. Never 7. (That’s NOT to say you can’t do 7.) The commitment to 6 classes allows you to take a day off when you decide AT THE TIME, IN THE MOMENT, that you need to take a day off. This is yoga, not a competition, not a sport. The whole ideology of ‘listening to your body’ can be thrown right out of the window if you decide to ‘power through’ an issue you have that is harming you. Those issues most commonly include heat exhaustion, back aches, shoulder and neck aches, sciatica to name a few. These issues rear their ugly head time and time again for the people who have the artificial goal of simply doing 30 classes in 30 days.