Lung or diaphragm breathing

Lung or diaphragm breathing2015-03-06T19:31:36+00:00
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Participant

First, thanks so much for the great video on Breathing Gabrielle. Amazing education.

I’ve been doing Bikram yoga for almost 2 years, and I’m still confused a little bit about the breathing so your video cleared alot up for me. I still have a question regarding lungs and diaphragm during pranayama standing breathing pose vs rest of class. I’m told to “suck my belly in” during the 1st pose, but then I can’t get breathe into diaphragm and have belly extend. Then same with rest of class, how do you keep firm in your belly and still have breathe into your diaphragm. All I ever hear is breathe deep into your lungs, suck your belly in. I wish your video would show what this all looks like when you do it, as i’m visual and that would probably clear it up! Ok thanks so much, any help or guidance would be gratefully appreciated.

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hello hellerworkca

Yep, you found yet another inconsistency or example of poor instruction in the ‘dialog’. Teachers will often tell you to suck your stomach in at the wrong moments. You have intuitively worked out that while you are inhaling that your breath is being hampered by sucking in your stomach.

One of the issues is that sucking in one’s stomach is being mistaken for improving core strength.

One can improve core strength by engaging the core. There are ways (and it’s not necessarily pertaining to this particular pose) to suck in the stomach (and the timing with certain poses) which actually weaken core strength. I am not going to go into that here.

So …

When you are inhaling your job is to get long. As you bring your elbows up, you can feel your body lengthen, especially at the sides, along from your hips to your armpits and then up to your elbows.