Piroformis Syndrome

Piroformis Syndrome2009-08-17T04:42:30+00:00
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi
    I have been practicing Bikram yoga regularly for ovre 3 years (4 to 5 a week)
    I have a pain that comes in my butt when I sit on it and I am tight from the butt down to the back of my knee often on my right side. It is also very hard to lock the right knee. When I fly or drive the pain comes on and is coming on sooner and sooner as I sit, so it seems. I feel great otherwise and do make very tiny teensy weenie incrimental progress in my practice. Although I have come a long way. (when I started I couldnt touch my toes, now I put my hands flat on the floor.) I totally believe in my practice but the tightness in my butt and back of thigh is discouraging.

Thanks
    Mark

abelanger26
    Participant

Have you tried stretching your piriformis muscles.

Great stretch: Lay on your back and cross your right leg over your left. You want your ankle aligned on the thigh. Grab your left leg with your hands and pull it towards you. Make sure your right knee does pop up. if so bring it back. Stretch for 90 sec 3 times. Repeat on the other side.

You can also do a deep tissue massage with a tennis ball. Lay on your back and put the tennis ball under your buttock. Try to find the tight muscle and rub it around. Eventually apply more pressure with your body weight.

hope I helped! Should release the sciatic nerve (it passes through the tight muscle witch can bring the pain and weakness down the leg) Good luck!

barky
    Participant

Hi