Still can’t do toe stand after 3 years

Still can’t do toe stand after 3 years2008-03-06T18:06:09+00:00
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Posted by Julie

I’ve been practising for over 3 years and have not succeeded with this posture. When I bend down to take the floor, my foot slips down from above my knee. Sometimes before I even touch the floor with my hands, sometimes when I bend the standing leg. I note the above comments regarding tree pose and have experienced some gains by incorporating them.

My hips are not as flexible as some of the other practitioners in the room. I am currently undertaking neural therapy to release energy through the caesarian scars that I have been blessed (?) with. Maybe that will help eventually. I also realise that after trying for so long to do this posture, I subconsciously hold some fear of it. Hard to explain. I’m trying to get out of this using EFT (emotional freedom technique) before class.

I’m 50 years old but I’ll never give up. One day I’ll do a toe stand and have all the instructors clapping. Who else has problems with this pose or can offer some suggestions?

Restored Content
    Participant

Posted by Ela

Dear Julie,

I’ve been practicing 3 weeks and cannot even grab my feet. Long way to go…
    Just to show you how far you went already..

🙂

the best,

ela

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hi there folks

You know that if you are having difficulty in Toe stand there are alternative ways to work on your hip opening:

I have mentioned in other threads the great benefit of hip-opening yin yoga poses. In particular you could ask for some help, or research (online or in some lovely yin yoga books) pigeon pose and another favorite of mine, square. Square is intense but incredibly effective.