Flexion/Extension question

Flexion/Extension question2011-04-23T01:50:28+00:00
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello All,
    First time posting after much reading/lurking/absorbing (thanks!)…my question is, from what I learned in ‘regular’ yoga over the years, flexion postures were always and immediately to be followed by extension poses and vice versa. In this sequence there are several places where that is not true.
    As much as I respect the sequence as it is, I have a flat lumbar spine and all of the curve that SHOULD gracefully include the whole lumbar spine, is only present in my last spinal bone and the sacrum. For this reason (I think) too much extension leads to strong nerve pain (and a very funny walk for days later.) Any thoughts from some yoga veterans and/or body workers out there?
    Muchas gracias,
    Liana

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hi Liana

It is true that one tries to balance the body’s movements. Can that be done if we do equal forward to backbends in a yoga class? Perhaps, perhaps not.

We all spend a lot more time in forward bends. So maybe in hot yoga we spend more time balancing out our habitual posture!

Can I ask you about the state of your sacroiliac joints? Have you got any mobility there albeit small (as is natural)? Is there something preventing you from having your lordotic lumbar spine? What movements make you feel as though you’re getting mobility into your lumbar spine? A flat lumbar spine often indicates a posterior pelvic tilt. I guess I am assuming there would be some small amount of pelvic tilt there. Any other information would be useful! Let’s keep delving

Namaste
    Gabrielle 🙂

CuencanaAtHeart
    Participant

Hello Gabrielle,