No wrist/elbow pain and trouble lifting legs up

No wrist/elbow pain and trouble lifting legs up2014-12-24T01:20:49+00:00
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello, I’ve been practicing for a few years pretty regularly, but have always had trouble with this posture. I feel like I must be doing something wrong because I’ve never felt the wrist/elbow pain the dialogue talks about. It never has felt uncomfortable either. Is there anything that I may be doing wrong? I have my elbows touching under the body. Teachers have never commented that I am doing anything wrong, but I feel like there is something I’m missing.

I also have a lot of trouble getting both my legs up and with the weight distribution. I have a large nose, and it hurts if put my face flat to the floor so I have to almost look forward a bit and hold my head up. (Not noticeable, I don’t think, but I can’t put my nose and mouth directly flat to the towel.) I think that may be one of my issues. I have a lot of trouble putting the weight “into the shoulders”, as they say. I feel like I can’t get my shoulders down or shift the weight forward. Do you have any tips for this?

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hello Rebecca

The first question for you is about arm placement. Are you bringing your arms in as per the dialog, as far under the body as you can, and also so that baby fingers are touching?

Over to you?

Namaste
    Gabrielle 🙂

onetwothree
    Participant

Yes, I am, thats why I am confused as I don’t feel a stretch/pain. I don’t think I ever did. I’ve always thought I was doing it wrong. Also, for locust, when you raise both legs at once, how should you adjust your arms? Some teachers say move your arms down towards your knees, is this the best? Should I try to put more weight on my shoulders initially when I readjust my arms?

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hi Rebecca