Post-yoga flu symptoms

Post-yoga flu symptoms2009-01-29T04:14:25+00:00
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Gabrielle:

I’m having a severe chills/fever/dry cough/joint ache reaction come on 3-4 hours following the end of every Bikram yoga practice. The symptoms are the same every time. Because I practice in the evening, by the time these symptoms arrive it’s bedtime and I should be falling asleep, but instead I’m shaking with such convulsions and feeling so achy in my joints that I can’t sleep. I’m generally wiped out the next day.

My job is intense and requires a high level of functionality, so this pattern isn’t working for me. I really appreciate the Bikram practice but I’m wondering if I can continue it. (I’ve been practicing for ~3 years; these symptoms began last March. FYI, I’m 51 years old and moving from peri-menopause into my menopause.)

Have you had any experience with this kind of post-yoga response? What would you attribute it to, and what might alleviate these symptoms?

I’ll look forward to hearing from you.

Shoshanah

Rebecca
    Participant

I have noticed this exact same thing, after some sessions but not others. Looking forward to hearing what Gabrielle has to say.

Suspect temporarily weakened immune system as a result of the strenuous workout, combined with proximity to people coughing, etc. in the humid environment.

I am your same age and stage.

fraseram
    Participant

I have heard this lots… I believe it has to do w/ a hormonal imbalance causing a weakened immune system. My advice would be to stop for a while to let your body even out and go to your doctor to get ALL your levels checked. I have an endocrine disorder and am familiar w/ the hormones of the body and how the practice effects them. (I have had to have them checked every 4-6 months since 12 years)
    ask for thyroid estrogen DHEA cortisol and electrolytes
    good luck and I hope that hepls.