10 year old ankle injury

10 year old ankle injury2008-06-26T15:24:59+00:00
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello all,

I am new to hot yoga, and I have a few questions I hope someone here can help me with. First of all, I also have a left ankle that I have to be very careful with. 10 years ago (I am 34 now) I broke, no, shattered my left ankle, and broke the tibula in half. It was brilliantly put back together, and I still have 99% range of movement. What I also have though is a lot of pain. I walk perfectly, unless I’ve been on my feet for over an hour, then I start limping a little. Hot yoga seems to be the only thing I can do (other than swimming) that burns calories without too much stress on my ankle. 3 days of 30 minutes sessions on an elliptical machine just killed me. I’m 5’4″, 140 pounds (trying to lose 15 or 20)

Anyway, my question is, there are a couple poses that seem to put a little too much strain on one leg. They are the toe stand pose and the fixed firm pose. Are there any variations to these poses I can do?

My other question is, for some reason I am turning 10 shades of red in class (it was my first) while everyone else is only 2 shades of red, or not red at all. What’s going on? Am I not tolerating the heat? I did feel slightly nauseated, but I thought that was normal. Despite all this, I still want to keep going. I’m 5’4″, 140 pounds (trying to lose 15 or 20). I felt great and light after class, and it seems to have jump started my weight loss when nothing else has worked.

Thanks for the advice ahead of time….

Waterwatch
    Participant

Hi Frippledip! (your name makes me smile 😆 )