30 day challenge after not practising for 3 months

30 day challenge after not practising for 3 months2011-09-03T23:32:08+00:00
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello Gabrielle and everyone,

I haven’t been to hot yoga in over 3 months and even then my practise was sporadic. It is what I would call a consistently inconsistent practise…3 or 4 days a week for a month, then not again for 2 weeks. Repeat. And I have been doing that for about 3 years. I need to get back in the habit of attending regularly.

I am not in very good shape (back and shoulder issues), I rarely exercise, and I need to lose weight. To kick start my practise, I am considering a 30 day challenge starting September 12. Do you think it is a good idea or should I ease myself in slowly, attending a few days a week and work my way up to a 30 day challenge?

Thank you,

Randi
    PS – Off to re-read the Introductory sections of the Hot Yoga Master Class for inspiration.

Gabrielle (The Hot Yoga Doctor)
    Forum Owner

Hi Randi

Welcome to the forum! And thanks for the little note about the MasterClass manual. :cheese:

A very powerful way to approach your 30 day challenge is with an outcome in mind. Attach it – for example – to the way you will be able to be more active because your body aches disappear and (if this appropriate) you’ll be more able to participate with activities with the family. If it’s just attached to say, your wish to lose weight then that may not be a strong enough as that goal in and of itself may not have been sufficient up to now. You’ll work out what that seductive motivation is. It could have something to do with the way you’ll feel WHEN you’ve lost that weight, or done those classes, or the type of person you’ll be because you’ve accomplished it.